Join Caboodle, the rewards programme from National Book Tokens

Sign up to receive emails packed with exclusive competitions, book recommendations, offers from your local bookshop, and more – plus you can win a £100/€120 National Book Token every month!

The Jhalak Prize and the Jhalak Children's & YA Prize seek to support and celebrate books by British and British resident writers of colour. The prize was founded by writers Sunny Singh and Nikesh Shukla. 

Jhalak Prize

The Jhalak Prize and Jhalak Children's & YA Prize 2024

The longlists for this year's prizes will be announced in March, with shortlists following in April, and the winners of both prizes being announced at the end of May. Each winner will be awarded £1,000 and a specially curated work of art as part of the ongoing Jhalak Art Residency.  


Key dates:

Longlist announcement - 14th March

Shortlist announcement - 11th April

Winners announcement - 30th May


Explore last year's winners below, and follow #JhalakPrize24 and @jhalakprize on social media for updates about this year's longlists, shortlists and winners.

The Jhalak Prize winner 2023

The Jhalak Children's & YA winner 2023



Previous winners

Previous winners of the Jhalak Prize are Travis Alabanza for None of the Above (2023), Sabba Khan for The Roles We Play (2022), Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi for The First Woman (Oneworld) in 2021, Johny Pitts for Afropean: Notes from Black Europe (Penguin) in 2020, Guy Gunaratne for In Our Mad and Furious City (Tinder Press) in 2019, Reni Eddo-Lodge for Why I'm No Longer Talking to White People About Race (Bloomsbury Circus) in 2018 and Jacob Ross for The Bone Readers (Little, Brown) in 2017. Previous winners of the Jhalak Children's & Young Adult Prize are Daniella Jawando for When Our Worlds Collided (2023), Maisie Chan Danny Chung Does Not Do Maths (2022) and Patrice Lawrence for Eight Pieces of Silva (2021).

Visit to learn more.

Our partnership with Jhalak Prize

At National Book Tokens, we're thrilled to be partnering with the Jhalak Prize for the fourth year in a row to help them increase awareness of the prize titles amongst booksellers, who have always been the best champions of books in their local communities. By distributing point of sale kits to more than 140 bookshops, and social media assets to many hundreds more, and by amplifying their activities through tailored PR support, we help them to create instore displays and shout about the longlists, shortlists and winners from their online channels and in local press.

"Championing the Jhalak prize has always been so important for us. It has been an honour to have sponsored two winners, one being a Newham author. Such an important prize."
- Vivian Archer, Newham Bookshop


The Jhalak Prize Winner 2023


Jhalak Prize 2023 winner


Winner, Jhalak Prize 2023

Travis Alabanza, None of the Above

Travis Alabanza has won the Jhalak Prize for None of the Above - their ‘beautiful book of intense vulnerability, generosity and humour.’  In None of the Above, Alabanza examines seven phrases people have directed at them about their gender identity. Through these seven phrases, which include some of their most transformative experiences as a Black, mixed race, non-binary person, Alabanza turns a mirror back on society, giving us reason to question the very framework in which we live and the ways we treat each other. None of the Above was praised by the judges for ‘presenting us with a voice that's rarely heard, often stifled and desperately important.’

"Travis Alabanza's book has a reflective quality that touches the heart and engages the mind. It feels like being invited into someone's interiority." - Anthony Vahni Capildeo

"None of the Above is a vulnerable and urgent exploration of non-binary identities. I read it from cover to cover in one sitting, and I know that I'll return to it again."Haleh Agar

"Alabanza writes with extraordinary generosity, vulnerability and thoughtfulness, presenting us with a voice that's rarely heard, often stifled and desperately important." - Monisha Rajesh


Jhalak Prize 2023 winner with trophy

Artist Sharon Adebisi has created the trophy for Travis Alabanza's None of the AboveSharon’s signature style of using a monochrome black background in her work was developed during a period in which she experienced a loss of identity in everything but her race. Her work for the Jhalak Prize is titled ‘Blessing’ and has been created with acrylic on a circular canvas. The strong colours reinforce the key themes of healing and hope for the future.

Find out more about the Jhalak Art Residency and the 2023 artists.


The Jhalak Children's & YA Prize Winner 2023


Jhalak Children's & YA Prize 2023 winner



Winner, Jhalak Children's &Young Adult Prize 2023

Danielle Jawando, When Our Worlds Collided

Danielle Jawando’s powerful coming of age story When Our Worlds Collided has won the Jhalak Children’s and Young Adult Prize.  Praised as a ‘powerful and devastating story’, Jawando’s novel is about chance encounters, injustice and how the choices that we make can completely change our future.  When Our Worlds Collided was praised by the judges for being a book ‘that speaks to many young people today that have been vilified or who go unheard.’

"When Our World's Collided stands out for its craft, courage and connection. This is a book with a devastating impact and one that brings to light a part of Britain rarely seen in literature."Irfan Master

"I loved Danielle Jawando's When Our Worlds Collided. If there's one book every teenager should read this year, it's this one."Yaba Badoe

"Danielle Jawando is a writer whose craft is elevated and empathetic. Her book is one that speaks to many young people today that have been vilified or who go unheard." - Maisie Chan

Jhalak Children's & YA Prize 2023 winner with trophy

Artist Diane Ewen created the trophy for the Jhalak Children’s & Young Adult Prize. Diane likes to create illustrations that are hand-drawn in pencil before painting in watercolour and acrylics prior to embellishing them using Photoshop but she also enjoys working directly on the computer screen creating her designs. For the Jhalak Children’s & Young Adult Prize trophy, she drew on memories of carnivals, especially that of Notting Hill, as well as her own heritage from the Caribbean. Created digitally, the work looks forward to a joyful future replete with creativity, dreams and hope..

Find out more about the Jhalak Art Residency and the 2023 artists.

National book token cookie themed gift card

"It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single visitor in possession of a good website, must be in want of a cookie."
Pride and Prejudice* by Jane Austen

We use cookies to make our website work, understand how visitors use our website, and display relevant marketing to you.